Please be aware that some programs and video content are temporarily unavailable, as the CEMM transitions to a new website. This content will be available soon but if you have any questions or concerns please contact us here

Stages of Cervical Cancer


If a biopsy confirms that you have cervical cancer, your provider will do a thorough pelvic exam and may remove additional tissue to help determine the stage, or extent, of your disease. The stage designates whether the tumor has invaded nearby tissues and whether the cancer has spread to other parts of the body.

The stages of cervical cancer are:

Stage 0
The cancer is found only in the top layer of cells in the tissue that lines the cervix. Stage 0 is also called carcinoma in situ.

Stage I
The cancer has invaded the cervix beneath the top layer of cells. It is found only in the cervix. It can be microscopic or seen with the naked eye at this stage.

Stage II
The cancer extends beyond the cervix into nearby tissues. It extends to the upper part of the vagina, but does not invade the lower third of the vagina or the pelvic wall.

Stage III
The cancer extends to the lower part of the vagina. It also may have spread to the pelvic wall and nearby lymph nodes.

Stage IV
The cancer has spread to the bladder, rectum, or other parts of the body.

Recurrent cancer
The cancer was treated, but has returned after a period of time during which it could not be detected. The cancer may show up again in the cervix or in other parts of the body.